VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.

  #1  
Old 11-06-2019, 08:15 AM
Bcone1381 Bcone1381 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Chelsea, MI
Posts: 90
Default Garmin G5 and Aera 660

Greetings Garmin Exprt;

The is probable a dumb question from a novice flat panel guy. (Experience round dial guy)

I am installing a single G5 (no auto-pilot) and an Aera 660 in a non-RV experimental. I had a harness built up to connect the G5 to a Garmin GMU-11 Magnetometer. The harness came with an RS-232 pig tailed off the G5. The GMU-11 communicate to the G5 thru a series of twisted wires called the CAN bus.

So, I am thinking the RS-232 cable is for a future gizmo.

What would be the benefit to connect the G5 to the Aera 660 dock via the RS-232 cable? Does the G5 allow me to select between an HSI and PFD view? Maybe the 660 could drive a Course Deviation Indicator on the HSI view?

Help me understand.

Last edited by Bcone1381 : 11-06-2019 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2019, 08:32 AM
D Weisgerber's Avatar
D Weisgerber D Weisgerber is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ionia Michigan
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bcone1381 View Post
Greetings Garmin Exprt;

The is probable a dumb question from a novice flat panel guy. (Experience round dial guy)

I am installing a single G5 (no auto-pilot) and an Aera 660 in a non-RV experimental. I had a harness built up to connect the G5 to a Garmin GMU-11 Magnetometer. The harness came with an RS-232 pig tailed off the G5. The GMU-11 communicate to the G5 thru a series of twisted wires called the CAN bus.

So, I am thinking the RS-232 cable is for a future gizmo.

What would be the benefit to connect the G5 to the Aera 660 dock via the RS-232 cable? Does the G5 allow me to select between an HSI and PFD view? Maybe the 660 could drive a Course Deviation Indicator on the HSI view?
Help me understand.
I hooked my G5 to a Garmin 796 with the RS232. I get a Course Deviation Indicator and I can fly V-Nav profile with it. You will also get a heading bug for navigating a course set into your GPS. The RS232 gives the G5 more capabilities.
__________________
Dave Weisgerber
RV8 N848DW. Ser#83830 done.
James Cowl
DAR inspection on 7-23-2021
First flight on 7-25-2021
Phase 2 on 9-3-2021
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2019, 08:40 AM
g3xpert's Avatar
g3xpert g3xpert is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,124
Post

Yes, as David correctly pointed out, an Aera 660/795/796 can provide lateral and vertical (VNAV) guidance to a single or dual G5 installation (with or without autopilot servos) over RS-232.

__________________
Garmin G3X Support
g3xpert@garmin.com
1-866-854-8433 - 7 to 7 Central Time M to F
Please email us for support instead of using Private Messaging due to the limitations of the latter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2022, 03:16 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g3xpert View Post
Yes, as David correctly pointed out, an Aera 660/795/796 can provide lateral and vertical (VNAV) guidance to a single or dual G5 installation (with or without autopilot servos) over RS-232.
Is this only in the experimental G5 or does it also display it on the certified G5? I'm trying to decide if it's worth connecting the 660 to my dual G5 setup, and do I connect it to the top or bottom G5 pin4? Now that I think about it, if it's getting rs232 into one G5 from my GTX335, can I connect the 660 to the other G5 or will that drive them both nuts (new technical term LOL)?

I believe they're interconnected since when I turn off the top G5 the bottom G5 changes from HSI to an EFIS display like the top G5 had.
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites for pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for the RV15 !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.

Last edited by Pilot135pd : 01-05-2022 at 03:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2022, 08:13 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 326
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot135pd View Post
Is this only in the experimental G5 or does it also display it on the certified G5? I'm trying to decide if it's worth connecting the 660 to my dual G5 setup, and do I connect it to the top or bottom G5 pin4? Now that I think about it, if it's getting rs232 into one G5 from my GTX335, can I connect the 660 to the other G5 or will that drive them both nuts (new technical term LOL)?

I believe they're interconnected since when I turn off the top G5 the bottom G5 changes from HSI to an EFIS display like the top G5 had.
A little more information about your installation is needed.

In another thread you reported that "For IFR I use dual Nav/Com with ILS.".

Do you have any navigators currently connected to your dual G5 installation?

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2022, 08:49 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,578
Default

Yes, I have dual Nav/Com radios for IFR navigation. My only navigation GPS is the VFR Aera 660. IFR GPS navigator or GAD 29B are not installed for now.

The other Garmin equipment I have installed are :

- Dual G5s with a GPS Antenna (010-12444-00) mandatory for STC'd installations) and a GMU-11 magnetometer

- GTX335 transponder with a GA35 GPS Antenna and GAE12 Encoder for ADSB-OUT.

- Both a GDL 39 and also a Stratux, to cover all my tablet apps for ADSB-IN
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites for pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for the RV15 !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.

Last edited by Pilot135pd : 01-05-2022 at 08:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2022, 09:31 PM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 326
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot135pd View Post
Yes, I have dual Nav/Com radios for IFR navigation. My only navigation GPS is the VFR Aera 660. IFR GPS navigator or GAD 29B are not installed for now.

The other Garmin equipment I have installed are :

- Dual G5s with a GPS Antenna (010-12444-00) mandatory for STC'd installations) and a GMU-11 magnetometer

- GTX335 transponder with a GA35 GPS Antenna and GAE12 Encoder for ADSB-OUT.

- Both a GDL 39 and also a Stratux, to cover all my tablet apps for ADSB-IN
Thanks, very helpful.

Yes, the G5 STC Installation manual does provide installation and configuration information for a "Portable Avionics Interface Connector" to which you can connect many portable GPS units including the Aera 660/760.

You will need to connect the NMEA output from the Aera 660/760 to both of your G5 units.

Since you have an external GPS antenna connected to your primary G5, you do not need the GTX 335 GPS data and will need to disconnect it.

If I were you I would forget about using a tablet since it cannot interface to your G5 and would be just another place to have to enter the flight plan and approach.

If you install an Aera 760, it can be your primary GPS navigator, and you can load/activate an ILS approach (for visual reference), complete with procedure turn and missed approach, and use it to drive your G5 units and provide lateral navigation to the final approach course where your NAV radio will take over to provide the ILS approach guidance.

If you ever upgrade to a GFC 500 autopilot, the Aera 760 can be one of the navigators that will directly drive the GFC 500.

Should you ever upgrade one of your NAV/COM units to a GPS/COM like the GNC 355, you can even drive the Aera 760 directly using the MapMX output from the GPS navigator for RNAV approaches.

Here is an example of an RNAV approach being used on an Aera 760, and an ILS would be similar.



I have a ball mount attached to the Aera 760 mount, a second ball mount attached to the instrument panel, and an adjustable arm in between the two which gives you great control over placement and viewing angle of the Aera 760. When you leave the plane you just push the button on the Aera 760 mount to release it, and the mount and aircraft wiring remains in place.

Click image for larger version

Name:	20220105_173442.png
Views:	3
Size:	2.84 MB
ID:	20582

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2022, 09:47 PM
Pilot135pd's Avatar
Pilot135pd Pilot135pd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Vaca Moo Airport - TA37 in East TEXAS
Posts: 1,578
Default

Thank you, I took a screenshot of your advice for the future in case I install the 760 or an IFR GPS navigator. Regarding the GFC500, Garmin isn't interested in the 177 and only the later 177a,b, and rg are included in their STC.

Connecting the 660 to both G5s will be easy, I guess it'll have to be as soon as it's too cold for me to enjoy flying next month !
__________________
Sadly sold my RV-8 however still trying to enjoy life by living on my airport with FREE campsites for pilots to enjoy www.facebook.com/VacaMooAirport/ & flying my OnSpeed equipped C-177 while waiting for the RV15 !

Exempt by 3 out of the 10 ways but I still donated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-06-2022, 09:52 AM
Longez's Avatar
Longez Longez is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KS
Posts: 326
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilot135pd View Post
Thank you, I took a screenshot of your advice for the future in case I install the 760 or an IFR GPS navigator. Regarding the GFC500, Garmin isn't interested in the 177 and only the later 177a,b, and rg are included in their STC.

Connecting the 660 to both G5s will be easy, I guess it'll have to be as soon as it's too cold for me to enjoy flying next month !
While the Aera 660 can't load approach transitions, arrivals, and departures like you can with the Aera 760, the Aera 660 can load the FAF to runway portion of approaches, which is a huge help in visualizing and flying ILS approaches with a NAV only equipped aircraft like yours.

Click image for larger version

Name:	SelectApproachPage.png
Views:	7
Size:	283.0 KB
ID:	20590

You can use the Aera 660 in combination with the G5 to provide guidance to the FAF, or you can activate vectors-to-final on the Aera 660 and have a great visual reference when receiving heading vectors to the final approach course.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ModifyApproach.png
Views:	4
Size:	283.8 KB
ID:	20591

Click image for larger version

Name:	KIXDILS36VTF.png
Views:	5
Size:	367.0 KB
ID:	20592

Another important feature provided by an Aera 660 used in combination with a G5 is VNAV guidance. You can setup VNAV on the Aera 660 to do something like providing VNAV guidance from cruise altitude to pattern altitude at a user specified descent rate (e.g. 500 fpm) and at a user specified distance from the airport.

The G5 vertical deviation bar will come alive just prior to the top of descent and provide vertical guidance to the bottom of the VNAV profile. When a GFC 500 autopilot is installed, this descent can be autopilot coupled.



Steve
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-06-2022, 12:06 PM
agirard7a's Avatar
agirard7a agirard7a is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 742
Default Auto pilot

“If you ever upgrade to a GFC 500 autopilot, the Aera 760 can be one of the navigators that will directly drive the GFC 500.”

I have a GRT Sport Sx with GRT servos for the AP. I also have a 660 hardwired into the panel and serial connected to the EFIs. Route info entered into the 660 transfers to the EFIs and the auto pilot flies the route. Not “legal” IFR.
__________________
Al Girard, Newport, RI
N339AG
RV-9

Last edited by agirard7a : 01-06-2022 at 12:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.