VansAirForceForums  
Home > VansAirForceForums

-POSTING RULES
-Advertise in here!
- Today's Posts | Insert Pics

Keep VAF Going
Donate methods

Point your
camera app here
to donate fast.


Go Back   VAF Forums > Model Specific > RV-14
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2015, 08:39 AM
JHartline JHartline is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carrollton, GA 5GA2
Posts: 288
Default Pictures of AOA line install

Folks,

I have the Safe Air kit for the pitot/AOA lines. The extra rib holes for the AOA line in the left wing don't go all the way to the root - the ADAHRS bundle takes up some of the holes. For those who used this kit, what did you do? I was looking at adding holes adjacent to the pitot line holes in the ribs as long as there are no structural issues.

Thanks, James
__________________
James Hartline
Carrollton, GA 5GA2
RV-14 - First flight 4/7/2019. Phase I complete as of 9/11/2019!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2015, 09:27 AM
Tom023 Tom023 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 475
Default

Same kit and did exactly what you are thinking, drilled extra holes. I contacted Vans beforehand and there are no issues. They told me how many additional holes could be drilled before it becomes an issue and it was something much larger than 1 or 2 at 1/2 inch.
__________________
RV14A #140083
Flying! 8/12/19
2020 Donation
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2015, 09:28 AM
pazmanyflyer's Avatar
pazmanyflyer pazmanyflyer is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ
Posts: 1,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Hartline View Post
Folks,

I have the Safe Air kit for the pitot/AOA lines. The extra rib holes for the AOA line in the left wing don't go all the way to the root - the ADAHRS bundle takes up some of the holes. For those who used this kit, what did you do? I was looking at adding holes adjacent to the pitot line holes in the ribs as long as there are no structural issues.

Thanks, James
I bought wings built from another builder who had the standard pitot tube installed. I removed it and used the SafeAir kit as a retrofit. Used the original run and then enlarged the tooling hole to the run the 2 line. I used another builders idea for pitot/static run under the arm. Yes my runs are 2 bays passed the standard location. I'm undecided where to locate it, so made provision for moving it out 1 or 2 bays if I wanted. Note that the previous builder also made wire conduit runs at 3 locations. I filled 2 of them with Vans conduit and left the third unused.



__________________
Carlos in Arizona
EAA Chapter 538 www.chapters.eaa.org/eaa538
Wittman Tailwind W8 N53CH (built & sold)
Pazmany PL-1 N2029 (bought & sold)
RV7 - N537TC (reserved & building)
Emp, Wings & Fuse done - working on FWF

"The air is an extremely dangerous, jealous and exacting mistress. Once under the spell most lovers are faithful to the end, which is not always old age." - Winston Churchill

Last edited by pazmanyflyer : 12-21-2015 at 09:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2015, 09:39 AM
Tom023 Tom023 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 475
Default

When I installed the SafeAir kit, I relocated the Vans standard parts to the right wing just as a second pitot source that will drive an analog airspeed indicator. Even though I will install glass, for some reason I still feel compelled to have an old fashioned airspeed indicator.
__________________
RV14A #140083
Flying! 8/12/19
2020 Donation
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2015, 11:31 AM
JHartline JHartline is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carrollton, GA 5GA2
Posts: 288
Default AOA

Thanks gents. I like the idea of running both lines adjacent so any future changes or maintenance will not require too much gymnastics. Also looks better IMO. I'm putting the mast in the factory location.

Re: standard airspeed indicator. I'm not at the avionics stage yet but I'm thinking about having an independent GPS source which would provide speed, alt, attitude versus backup gauges. Either a handheld or something like the Dynon D2. Seems like it would be an easier more maintainable solution. I have plenty of time to figure that one out. So many problems; so many solutions; so little money...
__________________
James Hartline
Carrollton, GA 5GA2
RV-14 - First flight 4/7/2019. Phase I complete as of 9/11/2019!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2015, 03:07 PM
JDBoston JDBoston is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 311
Default

James,
Here is my take at it. i also ran the wiring for the heated pitot as well. I am just about to close up the left wing. I chose to omit the one that Vans provides and am using a Gretz mast in the recommended location.

The tank is off temporarily so I can file it for a better fit against the outboard leading edge.

__________________
Jeff

RV-14A
Status: Tail mostly complete, Wings complete(ish), Working on: Fuselage Kit, Finish kit on order (EXP119)
Location:MA
http://vans14a.blogspot.com/

Last edited by JDBoston : 12-21-2015 at 03:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2015, 07:37 PM
JHartline JHartline is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carrollton, GA 5GA2
Posts: 288
Default Heated pitot

Jeff - What did you use for the heater wiring? Did you already decide which system to use? I would like to run wires for that as well but I don't know which system I'll eventually go with. Thanks
__________________
James Hartline
Carrollton, GA 5GA2
RV-14 - First flight 4/7/2019. Phase I complete as of 9/11/2019!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2015, 09:21 PM
JDBoston JDBoston is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston Area
Posts: 311
Default Garmin, but not sure how much that matters

I ran wires as suggested for the Garmin heated regulated pitot however my assumption is that all of them require power, and I could use the same wires.

I ran two 12 AWG wires and a 24 AWG signal wire from the mast all the way to the root. That brings the ground back to the panel which Garmin suggested and provides that signal wire for the heat regulation as well.
__________________
Jeff

RV-14A
Status: Tail mostly complete, Wings complete(ish), Working on: Fuselage Kit, Finish kit on order (EXP119)
Location:MA
http://vans14a.blogspot.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2015, 09:49 PM
lwillwerth lwillwerth is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Saline, Mi
Posts: 13
Default SafeAir1

While we are on the subject.... Does anyone know where to get the SafeAir1 kits now that Avery has closed? I have tried the contact form on the SafeAir1 web site and it seems to be broken at the moment. Haven't been able to find a phone number there either. Any suggestions anyone?
__________________
Lee Willwerth
Cardinal N297X
RV-14A 140182 N646PW
Empennage complete
Fuselage complete.
Finish kit underway.
Gotta order those wings soon!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-2015, 11:15 PM
rlmccarter rlmccarter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 44
Default Aircraft Spruce

Lee,

Try Aircraft Spruce http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalo...ickkey=1073768
__________________
RV-8 Under construction
Dues Paid
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 PM.


The VAFForums come to you courtesy Delta Romeo, LLC. By viewing and participating in them you agree to build your plane using standardized methods and practices and to fly it safely and in accordance with the laws governing the country you are located in.