VAF Forums

VAF Forums (https://vansairforce.net/community/index.php)
-   GPS (https://vansairforce.net/community/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   GDL39 Power Cable (https://vansairforce.net/community/showthread.php?t=103207)

Brablec 08-16-2013 09:49 AM

GDL39 Power Cable
 
I want to get ships power to my new Garmin GDL39 and Blue Tooth data to my Garmin 796. Garmin only sells a combination power/data cable. Does anyone know if just a power cable is available. The trick is the usb type connector at the GDL39.

g3xpert 08-16-2013 10:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brablec (Post 798475)
I want to get ships power to my new Garmin GDL39 and Blue Tooth data to my Garmin 796. Garmin only sells a combination power/data cable. Does anyone know if just a power cable is available. The trick is the usb type connector at the GDL39.

Hello Brablec,

Page 5-6 of the GDL 39 manual identifies the GDL 39 to Cigarette Lighter Power Cable 010-11686-60 if you wish to use a CLA for power.

If this isn't what you were after, please let us know.

Thanks,
Steve

Brablec 08-16-2013 02:08 PM

Ah, yes I see now, but is it available without the cigarette lighter plug or would it be ok to cut the plug off to gain access to the wires so I can hard wire to ships power?

bhester 08-16-2013 02:27 PM

Bare wire cable
 
I think this is what you want just dont hook up anything to the data wires http://www.chiefaircraft.com/pilot-s...-11686-40.html

g3xpert 08-16-2013 02:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brablec (Post 798562)
Ah, yes I see now, but is it available without the cigarette lighter plug or would it be ok to cut the plug off to gain access to the wires so I can hard wire to ships power?

Hello Brablec,

Rather than buy a CLA cable and cut the end off, we would recommend you use the power/data cable and just not use the data connection.

The power data cable (P/N 010-11686-40) is designed for installations with a permanent connection to aircraft power.

Thanks,
Steve

Brablec 08-17-2013 07:58 AM

Thanks for the help folks. I have got the picture now and have ordered the part

boomer 08-17-2013 09:36 AM

Just a quick question before I install my new GDL 39 with a 696 and Dynon HS-34. I plan to use the pass through serial connection but need to know if the pass through works with the GDL 39 turned off? Thanks.

-John

Quote:

Originally Posted by g3xpert (Post 798572)
Rather than buy a CLA cable and cut the end off, we would recommend you use the power/data cable and just not use the data connection.

The power data cable (P/N 010-11686-40) is designed for installations with a permanent connection to aircraft power.

Thanks,
Steve


g3xpert 08-17-2013 09:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boomer (Post 798772)
Just a quick question before I install my new GDL 39 with a 696 and Dynon HS-34. I plan to use the pass through serial connection but need to know if the pass through works with the GDL 39 turned off? Thanks.

-John

Hello John,

The serial pass through feature of the GDL39/696 only works when both devices are operating.

Thanks,
Steve

boomer 08-18-2013 04:18 PM

Thanks. I think I'll try it Bluetooth only (via IPAD or android) at first.

-John
Quote:

Originally Posted by g3xpert (Post 798777)
Hello John,

The serial pass through feature of the GDL39/696 only works when both devices are operating.

Thanks,
Steve


flightlogic 01-25-2014 10:02 PM

Steve, GdL39 is working via Bluetooth to the iPad. I wired a Garmin data cable today (pins too tiny to make one!) nothing appeared on the 696. Does Bluetooth need to be turned off to use the hard wired data?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 AM.