What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Flat Tire Repair in the field

John C

Well Known Member
In general, how hard is it to take the tire off of the wheel? Do they often come off easily or hard? I saw one tire that was stubbornly stuck to the wheel halves. It was difficult to break the bead and remove from the rim. The rim was already damaged so further damage was not a problem.

What is the best way to fix a flat or change a tube or tire in the field? Squeeze the tire in a vice, stand on 2X4s, pour soapy water into the rim/bead area, head for the local service station?

Take this for what it's worth ... I've changed the tires on my skyhawk once; they had been on for about 6 years and were very difficult to remove. I had to use the motorcycle bead breaker trick of a couple 2x4s and the underside of my car. Not very easy.

Thomas

Gas station - Changing tires

I am no expert, but it's not hard. I'll go so far as saying the actual tire / tube replacement is easy compared to other wheels. There is however several steps and a few challenges you would face on a trip away from home, mostly involving tools.

It sounds like you have never changed an aircraft tire before? I'll hit the highlights and difference between aircraft and car/bike tire mounting (no soapy water).

First any local FBO with rudimentary maintenance facility has the tools to change a tire. OF course they will charge a bunch $. Frankly I would not want anyone working on my plane. I much prefer to do it myself because I know it will be right.

The one issue you'll face (we all do) is finding a short jack for a low wing RV's. A Cessna and Piper wing is higher above the ground so the min heights of standard jacks often tend to be too tall for RV'ers. Look at the jacks at FBO's they are tall, even at the min height.