What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-3 info wanted

ShannonEvans

Guy's

I have been reading your opinions on the RV3. It looks like the ultimate fun machine. I am a little confused about the new wing braces. I would really like the wings to stay in the proper position on the aircraft while flying. I am a private pilot with no tail wheel experience, & a somewhat newbie to RV's. My experience is in the 6a & 9. The 3 looks like an economical way to start with a fun plane. I am 5' 10'' tall & 205#. Most of my trips are solo & less than 200miles vfr. Would this be a good fit for a fast overnight trip. Also I don't plan to do aerobatics. Wing issue & gross wt seem to throw up a flag. I see these priced 10000-20000 less than the RV4. If I need a 4 place I can rent one. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated. I am not real concerned about getting the tail wheel part down (or should I be). Also, What is insurance in general going to cost.

What do you think
Shannon Evans

RV-3 owner