What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Horizontal Stabalizer Fiberglass Tips

pilotian

Well Known Member
I am done with the Horizontal stablazier WOOOHOO! So I decided I wanted to perhaps put the fiberglass tips on soon so I was putting the tips on the ends just to visualize it and realized that the time are undersized as in they dont fit snug in the side. Usually people tell me that with fiberglass you will have to sand it down to fit it snug in the area.... But my problem is just the oppisite. In order to make them fit I would have to add material to make it snug.

I have no clue where tro begin, did I get faulty tips? Or what. I'm new to fiberglass stuff so any help is greatly appreciated.:eek:

Post a pic of your problem it will help people give you guidance.

My tips fit close but to get the look I wanted took some effort. Also be aware that the elevators make contact with the HS tips, requiring some trimming. So fit the elevators to the HS before you work on the the HS tips

RV-7build997.jpg

Post a pic of your problem it will help people give you guidance.

My tips fit close but to get the look I wanted took some effort. Also be aware that the elevators make contact with the HS tips, requiring some trimming. So fit the elevators to the HS before you work on the the HS tips

Will post a photo tonight, thanks for the suggestion as well, that makes sense!

FB inside the tip

Ian,