What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Looking for an RV-9A ride (San Diego)

rv9a

I went against conventional wisdom and had my friend (and CFI) do the first flight in my RV9A.

He then transitioned me into it and I flew off most of the PH I hours.

No transition training for either one of us and I am still a student pilot that had about 70 hrs when I started flying the 9,

If you build your -9A according to the manual and didn't try to "invent" anything or re-engineer the kit, you'll find it flies easier and nicer than just about anything else you've ever flown.

Unless your insurance requires transition training, just go fly it!

I think you'll be pleasantly surprised...

Dave
-9A out of PH 1

First flight

Mike, When I flew my 9A first flight, I had maybe 400 hrs. in Cessna 172s and Piper Cherokees. I had transition training and I?m glad I did. I don?t think the first flight would have turned out successful for me if I hadn?t done the transition training.

After 900 hrs. in the 9A I built a 7A and flew the first flight in it. One of my buddies gave me transition training in his 7A before that first flight.
The RV series of plane fly a lot differently that the regular production planes.

Larry

-9A flying

Well, admittedly, I'm really a newby compared to some here.

My previous experience was about 50 hr in a DA-20 and 20 or so in a C-150 with a smattering of DA-40 and C-152 time.

My -9A is a simple 150 hp, fp prop and a basic "six pack" panel.

The difference in flying qualities were minor; more responsive controls but not scary at all for a low timer, climb rate higher (if you pull the nose up) and a little more planning required in the pattern for speed control. If you elect to climb steeper and faster, it requires a lot of right rudder to center the ball.