What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Jet Glo versus Express

Space Cadet

Well Known Member
My local S-W paint distributor only stocks and mostly only sells Jet Glo Express, not Jet Glo. Anyone out there seen or worked with both side-by-side? I was planning on using Jet Glo because I thought it was a better product than Express, which seems designed for high-throughput paint shops, but open to changing to Express.

Thanks,
Dwight

I went to the S-W Aerospace Coatings class in Andover, KS a couple of months ago in anticipation of painting my airplane. I have no painting experience. All equipment is furnished for the training. I took my own sprayer and used it to spray the Jet Glo, Jet Glo Express and Acro Glo. I found the Acro Glo easiest to work with (no runs, nice glossy finish, very limited orange peel). My next choice would be Jet Glo Express. The S-W technical service reps were very informative and helpful. Of course, they are selling the S-W products. There is a tour of the paint plant and about 1 1/2 days in the paint shop--priming, painting and repairing paint dings. The two day class was well worth going to for me. Most of the participants were from professional paint shops and I received a lot of free advice.

S-W Aerospace Coatings information is online at their website.

Dan

Acro Glo is basically Jet Glo for slower aircraft (read below 250kts). It is also less expensive than Jet Glo. I've been very happy with how well it has held up for five years plus it still shines like it did when new. Now if I could just keep the bugs from throwing themselves at it.:D

Chris

Good info

Thanks guys.

Chris- I think I heard that much of the cost difference was because you are buying 3/4 gal vs full gallons?