What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Start up procedures

Fuel injected start up problem

Sorry, my original post was not complete due to my computer problem.

This is for cold start.

My engine starts rough and ejects black smoke on start up. I have tried some different processes but seem to have difficulty. My usual start up process is the following:

c) Set Prop Control ? LOW PITCH --FULL IN Position
d) Throttle ? OPEN TO ? TRAVEL
e) Master switch -- ON
f) Fuel Boost Pump ? ON
g) Mixture ? Full RICH
h) Ignition Switch -- START
i) Throttle ? AFT TO IDLE SPEED
j) Fuel Boost Pump -- OFF
k) Oil Pressure ? CHECK 25 psi @ idle
l) Alt. Field & Avionics ? ON

does anyone have any sugggestions?

I am just learning with my RV8 (33 hours so far) and what seems to work for me is to crack the throttle, and turn on the boost pump and run the mixture too rich for a few seconds, more if the air temp is cold. I always pull the mixture back to cut-off before I start cranking, and richen up the mixture when it fires.

For me, the hot start is just to start cranking without touching the throttle or mixture, with the boost pump off. It usually fires right away, and I add Mixture to keep it running.

Hopefully others will have better ideas, like I said I am just learning:)

Put the mixture full rich and the throttle wide open before turning on the boost pump. Cold start, turn the boost pump on and then off after 3-5 seconds. Hot start turn the boost pump off after 1-2 seconds. After turning the boost pump off, retard the throttle to 1/8-1/4 open and retard the mixture control to the idle cut off position. Engage the starter and don't advance the mixture control back to rich, until after the engine starts.
Good Luck,
Mahlon
"The opinions and information provided in this and all of my posts are hopefully
helpful to you. Please use the information provided responsibly and at your own
risk."