What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

evaluating unpaved strips

jjconstant

Well Known Member
I'm in Phase 1 of a 7A and would eventually love to fly into some grass strips. I have very little experience on grass/gravel but understand that there are some beautiful and appropriate strips and some ROUGH and inappropriate strips.

I would love to learn some tips from experienced grass/gravel folks on techniques to evaluate if a strip is appropriate for operations with a 7A. I know that technique is hugely important, as is practice and experience, but I also know that there are strips that, no matter how good you are, you're better off not landing there!:eek:

How do you tell? If there's been rain, how do you tell if it's well drained? What are your techniques for "dragging" the strip and what are you looking for from the air? How low do you need to be to evaluate these things?

Thanks!

Jeremy Constant

P.S. Please, with respect, no rehash of Nose Gear collapse discussions:eek:

There's no good answer, Jeremy....

..unless you know someone who has landed there, or the owner. It's very hard to 'drag' the strip, even from 15-20 feet, as I often do when we're spraying off a remote field. There's just no way to tell how firm it is.

Our EAA field was pretty wet last Saturday, so I drove the 30 miles instead of flying. I watched an RV-7 and a Pitts land, throwing water everywhere and was glad I left the -10 at home.

Consider rainy weather at the strip you're thinking of going to, as we did, and let that help you decide. The EAA strip had over an inch the day before.

Best,

What Pierre said,