What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

EI on top plugs

glenn654

Well Known Member
Why are the top plugs used for EI rather than the bottom which have a greater tendency to foul. Using the hotter stronger spark of the EI would seem to be better on the bottom plugs to me, but I have little real knowledge of electronic ignition.

Someone please enlighten me.......

Glenn Wilkinson

People who put the EI on the top plugs do it for simplicity.
If you have a choice, it's better to have it on the lower plugs.

Not always the case ...

Why are the top plugs used for EI rather than the bottom which have a greater tendency to foul. Using the hotter stronger spark of the EI would seem to be better on the bottom plugs to me, but I have little real knowledge of electronic ignition.

Someone please enlighten me.......

Glenn Wilkinson

The "Jeff Rose"/ElectroAir Systems recommend using the BOTTOM plugs.

So ... it varies. There is no single approach although I think Klaus (Lightspeed) recommended the top.

James

Ease of service on the top and with the spark these EI's put out, good fuel burn for sure... with proper leaning the bottom plugs stay very clean.

I may be wrong but I don't think it is actually the quality of the spark that keeps the plug clean it is the quality of the combustion of the air/fuel mixture. If you have good combustion then the entire cylinder head area will be clean including the spark plug. Weaker spark plugs, like those on the magneto, produce a lower intensity spark which may cause a less complete burn and leave deposits behind which ultimately clog the plug. Even a good plug in an engine that is timed badly, runs too righ or has a lot of oil leaks may become fouled no matter how intense the spark is.

Don't know but I....