What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Flight Instruction

Surfdoc

Didn't really know where I could post this... I am new to the Daytona Beach area and looking to earn my private. There are plenty of schools in the area though most have proven to be a bit over priced. 20,000 for my private seems a bit excessive. Just looking for some local info, all help would be greatly appreciated and I will be more than happy to buck some rivets for all who help.

First off, Welcome! $20K is high so make sure what you are getting quoted is for the rating you actually want --ie Private, Recreational, or Sport, and not for a zero-time to Commercial-Instrument package, etc. You should be able to get your Private for around $10K but there's a lot of variables so that is just ballpark. Check out this link to help you make the right decisions: http://www.aopa.org/letsgoflying/

Last edited:
I am a big proponent of buying an airplane to get your private, particularly a C-150 (assuming you and an instructor would fit). There are a lot of nice C-150s out there that have been cared for. In fact, my neighbor purchased an IFR certified 150 and did his private and instrument in it, then sold the airplane for more than he paid for it.

Right now with the depressed airplane market it may be time to go for the 150.

Thankyou

Thankyou both for the insight... These schools around here seem to just "pump" out the students, the more I hear the more wary I get. I would love to purchase my own plane, but am leaning towards a taildragger. Something economical and something that doesn't scare away instructors. I have an RV6 in the family and want to be able to transition into easily. Thanks again for the info guys!