What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Shielded Strobe Light Wire Questions

AirWolf

I am routing the shielded wire for my strobe lights in my 9A right now, and I was planning on having a connector between the wing and the fuselage, so that I could essentially completely wire the fuselage before I put the wings on.
With regards to the shield on the wire, I am assuming that I should use a connector of some type to connect the shields as well. Is that assumption correct?
Also, is there a site that shows how the 'right' way to ground a shielded wire? I know that I need to ground the end at the power supply, but I have never done it before, and haven't seen any pictures of how to do it either.

Thanks!
Ron
RV-9A - Wiring

Ron,

I've done exactly what you've described. You can peruse my web site if you want to see some photos of the install. Yes, you need to pass the ground wire through the connector as well. To ground it at the power supply, just crimp on a ring terminal and mount it underneath one of the hold dowm screws of the power unit. Nothing more than that is required.

You DO NOT want to ground the wire anywhere else (including at the wing disconnect fitting) as that creates multiple ground paths for the same circuit which = noise.

Ron,
I used a flat 4 trailer connector and you must connect the ground on each side of the connector.

664781 said:
Ron,
I used a flat 4 trailer connector and you must connect the ground on each side of the connector.
I also used a trailer connector (6 pin) for NAV and strobe lights, works great.

I would like to add that if you are using Whelen units, I recommend you attach a ground wire to the casing in addition to the black (NAV light) ground wire.