What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rocket for first-time builder?

stroke

I'm New Here
I am looking at possibly building a Rocket, but I have never built an airplane before. Would you guys recommend this? What are the pros and cons of building a rocket vs. and RV?

Lots of Rockets have been built by first time builders, but there is a huge variation in the abilities and attitudes of builders. Some builders need hand holding to do anything - they expect detailed instructions and plans, parts that fit perfectly, etc. Other builders just need to understand what it is that they are trying to accomplish, and they are prepared to puzzle their way through things to make it happen. Most people are somewhere in between. Where in this spectrum of ability and attitude do you fall?

Also, there are more than one kind of Rocket. There is the original Harmon Rocket II, where you start with most of an RV-4 kit, plus some plans and parts from John Harmon. This project is probably more difficult than an RV-4. Alternatively, there is the F1 Rocket, which is a whole new aircraft, closely based on the Harmon Rocket II. It comes as a quickbuild kit, I believe. I'm not familiar with the plans and kit quality, but I suspect (to be confirmed), that it is a much easier (and more expensive) project than building a Harmon Rocket II. Which Rocket are you interested in?

Last edited:
The F1 Rocket is a good plane to build with exceptional support from Team Rocket's Mark Fredricks and lots of on line help.

If you want an idea of what it takes to build a F1 Rocket, go to my web site. I documented the entire build process from first kit to flying in a step-by-step manner. That should at least give you some idea of the effort and skills involved.