What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Poster

Kyleag04

I've been an lurker/wisher on Doug's site for the past several months. Now that I'm a member of the forums and I placed my RV-7 tail kit order yesterday (5/1/08), I just wanted to introduce myself and ask my first question. I'm sure there will be many more questions to come.

I'm a young engineer working for Air Tractor in Olney, TX designing and building the best agricultural aircraft and firefighting aircraft in the world. I live in the tiny town of Windthorst, TX (population 447) where I was born and raised. As far as I can tell, I'm at least a two hour drive from the nearest EAA chapter and at least a 45 mile drive from the nearest RV builder.

I have had my PPL for a little over 2 years now. I decided to build a kitplane for several reasons. The biggest reason is probably the same as everyone else here: to build an airplane that I can fly and maintain that provides the most bang for my buck. Another big reason is that I firmly believe that building this airplane will make me a better engineer than any amount of college hours could ever do. There we go, "recreation and education" just like the FARs say.

Anyway, to my question: I just ordered my tail kit yesterday. How long should I expect for it to arrive in N. Texas and approximately what will the shipping be? I would appreciate any feedback so I can plan appropriately.

Thanks,

Welcome, Kyle! I got my tail kit a week after I ordered it (of course that was a few years ago).
b,
d

Welcome!!!!!!

Hey Kyle, welcome aboard.

I know Texas is pretty big, but with as many RV's as there down there, I am surprised to see you are 45 miles from the nearest builder. Have you looked in the white pages on this site, you can scope out the Texas builders.

My factory....