What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Airspeed Indicator - MPH vs Knots Questions

Sparky

Well Known Member
I will be installing a steam gauge airspeed indicator (as a backup) in my RV-7 and have a few simple questions. Should it indicate in MPH or Knots? What are the advantages or disadvantages of each? If I install a dual scale airspeed indicator, which is "best" for the outer scale? Is there a "defacto standard"? Does it really matter? I'm a pretty low time pilot, so I'm really not partial to one or the other at this point, so personal preference isn't an issue for me. What did you choose and why?

Last edited:
I went with an true airspeed indicator with the outer ring in mph and the inner in knots. Why limit yourself?

It's all personal opinion. I like knots & my buddy prefers MPH (maybe 'cause it makes it look like it's going faster). I have a dual scale with mph on the inside

L.Adamson

Everything you talk to a controller about will be in knots and nautical miles. Flight plans are filed in the same. MPH is a more impressive number but in oreder to reduce the confusion, I went with a knots only AS.

All in all, like already said, it is strictly personal preference. The only thing I would not do would be a MPH only AS.

Knots

For basic VFR flying "it don't make no never mind." However, the FAA and ATC do business in Knots. IFR charts are in nautical miles. My opinion is that it should be in knots. In the case of a dual scale indicator, I would put knots on the outside for the above reasons. I'm sure that some of it comes down to marketing, when you are selling kits 200 miles per hour is more impressive than 174 knots.

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA

Distances - how you measure...

The FAA standardized in knots in the late 70's on certified planes.

But in our applications....

It may depend on which scale you use when you look at sectionals...:)