What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-8 Condition Inspection safety items

Vern

Well Known Member
From Dave Hamilton-he wanted circulation of this safety info-Vern
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
All,

I want to share a few lessons learned from the annual condition inspection I am doing on my RV-8. This was my first homebuilt and I am still learning how to do things correctly. I share this information in the hopes that someone can be spared the expense, downtime and potential danger.

I found a large crack on the #4 exhaust. The crack began in the weld where the flange bolts to the cylinder and progressed down and around the pipe 180 degrees. I sent the exhaust back to Larry Vetterman for repair. Larry called me and gave me some much needed insight to exhaust maintenance.

The exhaust cracked in part because the slip joints and ball joints were frozen up. Larry recommends they be lubricated with ?mouse milk? which is available at Spruce. Every time the cowl is off, reapply the mouse milk. These joints are there so the exhaust can flex. They must be lubricated.

I also hung my exhaust incorrectly. Mine was hung from the bottom of the engine case. I reasoned that the exhaust would move with the engine better and would be less likely to crack. In fact this resulted in a crack because the exhaust hangers were too far forward leaving too much pipe unsupported behind them. Its okay to hang the exhaust from the engine mount because the lubricated slip and ball joints will allow the exhaust to flex as intended. The front of the exhaust is supported by the flanges and the hangars need to go as far back as possible.