What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Speed Brakes for the RV9

Why??

I have not built yet so I am no expert but to me it seems like a unnecessary use of 4000 smackers. The RVs have a pretty good sink rate anyway so I can't imagine why one would need speed brakes. If you have not already decided to do so, why not put that extra money into a CS prop? From what I hear and seen from my one RV ride, the CS prop works pretty well as a speed brake and has the added benefit of better take-off performance. If you have already decided to put a CS prop on your plane, why not put this extra $4000 into your panel or into your bank account?

no need for speed brakes

Warren

You won't need them. I have a fixed pitch prop on my 9A and it's a non issue. I land on a short grass strip most every day and have no problems. My home airport is a big freight airport and I fly with DC8's and 9's in the pattern so I have to keep my speed up sometimes, it's really no big deal. You can enter the pattern rather fast and still slow down enough to get the flaps down to land. Have some faith that Van designed a great plane and save the 4000 for gas money.

Agree, it's a non-issue. On my fixed pitched 9A, pull the throttle and keep the nose up and she'll slow down in time even if you're still doing 100+ on downwind. If not, go around and buy 50 tanks of gas with the $4000.

Drag Brake excess money or altitude

You have the best drag break in the world already, it is called landing gear.