What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Some questions

rleffler

Well Known Member
Well this isn't a question about painting my RV-10. It's about my Cherokee 180. But since the process should be the same, I'll pose my questions here.

I've had some hail damage and my insurance company had me take the plane to Hangar 6 in Hillsboro, OH. for repair estimates.

For an additional $3k, they would paint the entire aircraft as opposed to just the repaired areas being painted.

I made some inquires about their paint process. The following is the reply that I just got.

Your aircraft will then be sanded to the base metal, primed, sealed and painted with an acrylic urethane single stage paint. Hangar 6 prefers to use the P.P.G. DCC concept product line.

I'm no expert, but two items that I think I need to question.

1. I thought sanding was not good and that chemical stripping is the preferred method.

2. Isn't the surface supposed to be etched, then alodine, before the primer?

So are these show stoppers and I should look someplace else?

The plane is currently painted with Imron. Is the paint that they want to use equal or better in quality?

thanks,
bob

More detail

Ask for more detail on the painting process.... I think you will at least find an etch in the process, and probably an alodine....

I think you just got the short answer...

gil A

Gil,

What about the sanding? I thought we we never suppose to sand the aluminum?

thanks,

bob

rleffler said:
Your aircraft will then be sanded to the base metal, primed, sealed and painted with an acrylic urethane single stage paint. Hangar 6 prefers to use the P.P.G. DCC concept product line.

The plane is currently painted with Imron. Is the paint that they want to use equal or better in quality?

thanks,
bob