What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-12 Basics

GolfJulietRomeo

I'm New Here
I've been following this thread for a while and the discussions regarding how much different and how much the same the RV-12 will be to it's brethren; at least as much as can be known at this time. What I haven't seen, however, are any discussions on how hard it will be to build and what it will take (apart from maybe less money).

I've seen the discussion regarding pull rivets etc; how about what other compliment of tooling may be required. Any guesses?

I've never built a plane but have been thinking about it for a while. Did some preliminary research and bought the plans for an RV-9 but the economics and my lack of space at the time nixed that. I'm not a mechanic but not unhandy either. I'm pretty sure I can do it.

What I'm considering is getting ready for the RV-12 this fall and winter; acquiring the tools necessary and getting my (meager) space prepared for when the kit will available.

So, what I'm looking for is advice or opinions on where to get started.

Thanks!

Gordon

Closer to my dream!