What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Wx Radr Options

planedriver

I'm New Here
Hello, this is my first post. I live in Canada. Way up north in Canada above the 60th Parellel. Due to the vast distances I am seriously looking at the RV10. My question is about IFR panels in kits.

Up here we have no ATC radar, no Nexrad Coverage (you'd think, dam politics), and no ATC 50nm north of here, until you hit FL230. Mostly all the IFR flying is GPS Direct and ADF approches. Still theres anything from 172's to 737's flying everyday without a hickup.

I read alot about all the new glass and the super panels that are installed in most of the new planes. While they all look amazing and do wonders, I have to ask. Do you guys actualy pick your way through thunderstorms with Nexrad? I have never flown with it but I have read that it is not real time.

I fly IFR for a living on Kingair 200's. My three favorite friends are my KLN 94, my Wx radar (the big expensive kind) and my Deice boots.

Are there any kit builders that have some sort or real time Wx Radr? I would like a simple good ol IFR (HSI) platform with maybe a KLN 90B of KLN 94 and some kind of Wx aviodence. Other that getting on top of a layer your pretty restricted with out Wx if there are CB's forcasted.

Those advanced glass panels must be a real treat. We have been flying hard IFR on steam gauges for the longest time and I really sont mind it. There are tons of airliners still working that way. The GPS for us make all the difference. Any opinions?

I see that EFIS like DAYON and Advance have great looking product that are not that $$$$$

planedriver said:
Hello, this is my first post. I live in Canada. Way up north in Canada above the 60th Parellel. Due to the vast distances I am seriously looking at the RV10. My question is about IFR panels in kits.