What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Garmin Heldhand at Oshkosh???

Scott DellAngelo

Well Known Member
Just some rumor and spectulation, but Garmin did sign on some deal with XM weather and already has weather capabilities to some of the marine GPS's. So, anybody know of anything coming at Oshkosh?

Last edited:
Scott DellAngelo said:
... I really like the looks of the 296 and even though up until a couple weeks ago I planned a GNS430, the more I look around at the operators manual and stuff on the 296 the GPS features seem better to me than the 430 (just that darn legal crap for IFR that spoils some of it). ...
Scott
#90598 wiring
N598SD
Scott,
I am not an expert on the FARs but I think the only "Legal" thing the 430 provides relative to required instrumentation for IFR (as opposed to the 296) is the radio.
You can obviously get a radio elsewhere, so go for the 296.
-mike

mlw450802 said:
Scott,
I am not an expert on the FARs but I think the only "Legal" thing the 430 provides relative to required instrumentation for IFR (as opposed to the 296) is the radio.
-mike

You can never use a handheld GPS as your primary means of IFR navigation. You can only be "/G" with an IFR approved panel-mount GPS like the 430, 530, etc. The radio is irrelevant. As far as I'm aware, a handheld radio is legal (albeit maybe not the best quality) for any operation.

Last edited:
You might want to double check this response ...

mlw450802 said:
Scott,
-mike
I think you will find a whole bunch of acronyms associated with the "legality" of the GPS section of the 430/530 for filing and flying IFR.