PDA

View Full Version : NMEA fast or slow


dothetime
09-17-2020, 11:34 AM
I just updated my gps, NMEA fast or slow to Dynon D180?
Can’t find it in the Dynon manual.
Updated from an obsolete 496 to an almost obsolete 560
Thanks
Dave

Carlos151
09-17-2020, 01:08 PM
Seem to remember that the slow 9600 setting is what you need for the D180.

dothetime
09-17-2020, 02:19 PM
Thanks, but I’m referring to the Garmin 560 setting for the autopilot.
There are two, fast or slow.
Dave

BobTurner
09-17-2020, 03:37 PM
Terminology confusion? NMEA usually refers to an RS232 format, where the speed (baud rate) is set independently (e.g., 9600). OTOH two wire ARINC data standards usually offer ‘fast’ or ‘slow’.

lr172
09-18-2020, 08:29 AM
Terminology confusion? NMEA usually refers to an RS232 format, where the speed (baud rate) is set independently (e.g., 9600). OTOH two wire ARINC data standards usually offer ‘fast’ or ‘slow’.

It is not the baud rate. In the garmin portable world, the NMEA fast or slow determines the interval of how often the NMEA data payload is sent. It also changes the specific content of what data is sent in each transmission (fast includes fewer data elements). I once resolved a connectivity issue by changing this setting.

Larry

GalinHdz
09-18-2020, 10:53 AM
It is not the baud rate. In the garmin portable world, the NMEA fast or slow determines the interval of how often the NMEA data payload is sent. It also changes the specific content of what data is sent in each transmission (fast includes fewer data elements). I once resolved a connectivity issue by changing this setting.

Larry
^^^^^^THIS^^^^^^

FWIW; use the "slow" setting unless you have a specific reason to use the "fast" one.

:cool:

dothetime
09-18-2020, 11:08 AM
Thanks for the info