What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New to RVs: Want to meet San Diego RV Pilots

rchaney

Greetings,

I'd like to meet up with local pilots to learn more about RV's. San Diego area. Are you out there? Any suggestions on finding them?

I'm a new pilot with a background in soaring. I've been keen on owning a Long-EZE yet having taken a good look at the RVs and I find them to be pretty versatile! Fast-Slow; baggage; side-by-side...

Thank you very much!

-Ralph

Hello Ralph,

Where are you located? There are RVers to be found all over San Diego county. I'm located at Ramona Airport just finishing up an RV-9A. There is also a 7A under construction on the field. In addition, we have a flying 7, 8A, 6A, and a few 4's also located on the field with an 8 ready to fly only waiting for it's pilot to complete transition training. If you're in North County we would be glad to have you drop by and ask questions or just look. Be carefull though, if you stick around too long you my find yourself building one of these things sooner than you think.

The vast majority of RV's seem to be based out of SEE (Gillespie) and Ramona (KNRM). We have quite a few in our local EAA chapter also (Chapter 14) based out of Brown Field (SDM) - all of the RV's fly in from other airfields with the exception of an RV3 and a 4 being built. We usually have a few RV's show up at our monthly meetings that you can get a good look at - which luck would have it, is this weekend on Saturday.
So consider this an open invitation to come on down - we are right below the new tower (not the abandoned one on the way in) - meeting starts at 10am - come early and have breakfast - stay after and have lunch.

Last edited:
RV-8 Moving to KMYF or KSEE...