What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Instrument updates?

speed

I really like the glass cockpit idea, it looks smooth. However, I see one drawback that may or may not be an issue. software / data updates ?

Most if not all instruments display some time of airport/airspace data, etc. All this data must be transmitted to the device, if dynamic, or stored in some storage device for recall, if static. Thats a lot of info, and if I have different devices store duplicate information I could have a data integrity problem :(

Do instruments vendors provide the data updates or do the pilots have to generate the data and upload this information? How often/fast does this aviation data really change?

Since I am still a student, there seems to be a push that it is the pilots responibility to get/maintain update information. I assume this goes beyond just weather and local flight patterns.

Thanks in advance.

Typically the data is made available to the pilot, but it's ultimately HIS reponsibiliy to load it into the machine. This is now DIRT simple in many of the new glass systems.

Chelton uses a really nice data card that you just can insert/remove from the FACE of the EFIS,

GRT (Grand Rapids) has a USB port on the efis, and provides a Memory Stick that you simply load from your laptop or wherever and insert the little stick into the screen and you're done.

Others use serial cables, USB's, etc.. from a laptop.

Just my 2 cents...most of my experience is working with Chelton, GRT & Dynon, but I also Understand that BMA has a very slick update scenario as well.

Cheers,
Stein.

Electronic update

First would the lack of the most current update make it unsafe? Is it legal?
As a student you will read in the FARS, part 91:

91.3 - Responsibility and authority of the pilot in command: