What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

AKZO Shelf Life

rleffler

Well Known Member
The directions on the AKZO primer state that the shelf life is 8 hours after mixing.

Since I'm new at this, I'm curious as to how long after the 8 hours has somebody used AKZO and what were the results.

I had my first priming session today with the VS parts. My first batch of AKZO, I under estimated the amount I needed. The second batch I over estimated the amount needed. I guess I'll get better at estimating primer volume needed by the time I get done.

I have successfully put it in the freezer and used it several days later for small jobs.

T.

Bob,

As you know, AKZO is not exactly cheap. I went through the same learning curve as you when I built the 6A. Freezing the unused portion will work for a few days and you will be able to tell when it is no longer viable. It starts to curdle like spoiled milk.

I found that this time around, I save a great deal of time and trouble by mixing up just enough primer to be contained within a 12 oz cup. I use small 3 oz. cups dipped into the gallon cans to measure out equal parts A and B. I then form a little spout on the 12 oz. cup and pour the mix into the film canister for the small spray gun. Depending upon the size and number of parts you plan on priming during a given session, you may have to fill the film canister many times but I was able to prime all the empennage and wing components I wanted to with ease. The small gun works very well for most parts...even the long aileron push pull tubes. But if you plan on priming larger surfaces such as a full skin, a larger gun would be a more practical choice. The best part is cleanup. Toss the paper cups and run a little MEK through the gun. You are done.

akzo20hw1.jpg

Last edited: