What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Mounting Radio Rack

Jim P

Well Known Member
For those with long avionics trays that extend through the sub-panel, did you secure the radio rack to the sub-panel or just allow to "float" in the recess? I have a tip-up and am trying to determine if I need to secure the trays to the sub-panel, or just just ensure it's supported?

Jim

Support your local radios

I'm just getting started on this as well (7A Tipup). I only have 1 radio (SL30) that actually extends into the sub panel, but I plan to attach all the radio racks together at their aft-ends with a strip of AL sheet. Since the racks are all different lengths it will be a 2-3" wide strip. Then I will either attach that strip to the sub-panel, or just support the SL-30 tray at the sub panel. Just having the radios cantileverd off the IP is not a good idea IMHO. I'd be making a support off the sub-panel even if none of the radios went through it.

I wasn't sure on that one either, but figured for the $$$ that would be bouncing around at a few G--better safe than sorry. A nice side effect is that is really made the panel quite a bit more solid.

Tray support

My stack is as follows, Garmin 340, Garmin 430, Garmin SL 40 (Apollo), Garmin 330S.

I used a diagonal band on the sides to tie all the trays together after getting the alignment set. The trays are support on the back of the main panel with angle top to bottom. On the sub panel, I have a small piece of angle that ties into the 430 tray. Everything is snug and aligned.

BTW, If you use all Garmin products the face of the trays when aligned will make the radios flush when mounted. Integrating the Apollo SL 30 or 40 into the stack will require their tray to be set approximately a 1/16th forward of the others for proper alignment.

Thanks