What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Plug and play panel?

Having reached the age where time may be more important than money, I have been looking into "plug'n play" panels in the interest of saving time. The one quote I got for a fairly modest panel was $29,000+. I would like to hear from other builders that either have some experience with "plug'n play" or just have an opinion. I need a frame of reference just to know what might be reasonable.

Thanks,
Don Owens :confused:

The panel I was quoted on seemed like I was paying about 5K to have someone drill the holes and mount the equipment. Most examples I have seen on the internet seem about the same. I spent a few hours using Panel planner and cut and drilled all the holes myself. I had my avionics supplier do the harness. I don't think I spent more than three days to do it and I am not experienced (two panels in my life).

Roberta

panelin11cw.jpg

In addition to what Roberta said, "worst case" you can send your panel to these guys:

http://www.experimentalair.com/

and have them lay it out and cut it for you. Seems like they charge a reasonable fee for what they offer. I guess all you'd have to do is install the gadgets and either do wiring yourself, or have someone do the harness(es). Probably will save you a few grand...

Speaking from my own experience here, and someone who does this for a living (building panels that is).

$29K should get you one heck of a panel. That should allow for a Dual Screen EFIS system, 2 axis Autopilot, nice Nav/Com or two, Audio Panel, Moving Map, backup instruments and a bunch of other goodies.