What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

leak around fuel sump

Build9A

Well Known Member
I have a tiny leak around the fuel sump fitting. Looks like it is coming through the sealant layer on the edge of the fitting. It is not coming from the fuel sump itself. Barely would have noticed except for the trace of blue dye. It wasn't there when the plane was DAR inspected last friday. My tanks were part of QB wings so I have very little experience with fixing something like this. By the way, the wings are on the plane and I'm flying. Any suggestions on the best approach? thanks, Jack N489JE 9A flying.

If you are refering to the sealant on the threaded portion of the quickdrain fitting, you may need to remove the fitting and apply more sealant to the fitting and reinstall it.

If you are refering the the flange of the wing sump that is riveted to the tank with sealant, then other means like opening the tank end coverplate and cleaning and resealing the sump fitting from the inside might be necessary.

Also check to see if particulate may be caught in the quickdrain causing it to not seal properly. I had pieces of AL working their way out of my QB tanks and catching in the quickdrains. I had to flush the tanks several times by pulling the drains and letting fuel gush out and purge the particulate out. I replaced the O-Rings several times before the seepage finally stopped. It helps to have and extra quickdrain ready to install, or a plug, so you don't lose to much fuel. Roll your sleeves up!

Roberta

I have used Pro-Seal externally on several occasions to stop leaks. If you can clean and sand the seam around the leaking fitting ,then apply Pro-Seal in a fillet all around the fitting it should work. You should drain the tank first. Just go fly and burn it out !
Let the Pro-Seal cure a couple of days if you can before filling the tank.

Bob olds RV-4
Charleston , Arkansas

Fix That Leak