What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

flop tubes and oil lines

A W Foltz

First, I am a flyer not a builder (RV 8). I bought my 8 January of 2007 when it was new, just having the required hours flown off. This was the 5th RV build of the builder ( who was an IAC competitor ) and was set up especially for IAC aerobatics with an inverted oil system, oil accumulator, both right and left tank flop tubes, steam gage g meter, CS prop powered by an AEIO 360 Lyc., duel pilot retaining belts and harness, and except for an early problem with the prop governor it has served me well now for just over 1000 hrs. My 8 has always been hangared and maintained by the same A&P (who has never offered any spontaneous advise related to my question). I have never seen any signs or symptoms of incipient failure and the question is....are there required or recommended replacements of the flop tubes and oil hoses based on time of use. I could find this info elsewhere but I respect the accumulated wisdom and experience of the VAF family of flyers and builders......so what say you? Thanks for your time and consideration. AWF

One of my pet peeves. Just say no to flop tubes.