What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Amphibian RV-3

SPEEDBIRD001S

I'm New Here
Hy to you all pilots!!
I'm new to the "Air Force", but I have to say that this forum is fantastic!
Anyway, several years ago I built an RV-3 B from the original kit, and I'm still flying it with joy every time that I could; after seeing online the picture of an RV-7 with floats a strange idea came to me...
So, I know that it's a strange idea and there are many factors to consider, but is technically possible to mount floats (with retractable gear) on an RV-3? I saw that there are different manufacturers that can provide floats, and I think (correct me if I'm wrong) that the 200 hp from my current engine could do their job contrasting the extra wheight and drag, so I'm curious to know what the most experts could say about my idea.
Thanks for reading and nice flying to all !

Often, floats are detrimental to stability, so floatplanes that are based on land-planes often end up with extra stabilizer area e.g. ventral fins, dorsal fins / vertical stabilizer LE root extensions, mini vertical stabilizers at the tips of the horizontals, etc. So, you should be ready to do something like that.

And the slower the airplane is, the better. I'd think about adding vortex generators, maybe extended and/or drooped wingtips, and maybe even drooping ailerons, depending on your comfort messing with the control system.

Thanks for the precious informations... I'm pretty sure that some aero modifications are mandatory for this type of conversion.

Hy to you all pilots!!
I'm new to the "Air Force", but I have to say that this forum is fantastic!
Anyway, several years ago I built an RV-3 B from the original kit, and I'm still flying it with joy every time that I could; after seeing online the picture of an RV-7 with floats a strange idea came to me...