Cement85

I am a VFR pilot that got my IFR ticket in 1992 and have done nothing with it since, 75% of my time has been in a Luscubme 8a, no electric, hand prop, most of the time no radio.

About to finish an RV4, to talked into Grt 200sport, I cannot see spending an extra $900 and $40 a month for XM weather. Is it really worth it? I don't plan on doing any IFR in this airplane, I understand the 4 is a lousy platform for it anyway.

Thinking outside the box, xm does offer $9 a month for fishermen, if all I want to do is stay away from the big bad stuff, will this suffice?

Just wandering what everyone else who is on a budget was doing.

I will probably hold out for the ADS-B weather system.

Last edited:
XM WX is for VFR Also!

It's one of the greatest aviation tools ever invented.Allows you to fly much more safely and with greater confidence.

If you're flying locally, probably no need for it. If you're going cross-country, it'll come in handy for sure. Whether it's a necessity is another matter and I'd have to say probably not.

Dave

A few conviences of XM weather...

TFR's that you might have missed

Altimeter setting updates

Knowing --ATIS, AWOS at the destination, much sooner than with the comm.

Continous weather updates while in route. Can make a real difference in mountain country.

Winds........depending on subscription

L.Adamson

As mentioned above, in my mind it is not a question of IFR versus VFR, it is a question of local versus cross-country. In all my years of flying, I can honestly say that the thing that has created the most worry is the question "I wonder what the weather is doing up ahead?" You usually want to know this the most when the visibility is bad (and getting worse). XM is WAY more than radar - in fact, I spend much more time with the METARS and watching the TAF's.