cgrossl

Well Known Member
Over the last few months, I have been doing alot of research on building airplanes, RV's in particular and I have decided to build an RV7 for myself. But, I am waiting until I sell my truck before I buy the empenage kit. I need the garage space.

Anyway, during all of this research I found it surprising that the most accepted methods of pressing dimples in a piece of sheet aluminum are with a hammer and a C-Frame jig to keep the dies aligned, or with the pull of a lever. I'm sure that both of these methods work well, but I work as a Machine Design/Manufacturing Engineer so my mind kind of defaults to figuring out ways to automate processes. Its almost a reflex now.

Since I can be kind of lazy sometimes, my first thought after finding out that you had to use a hammer or a lever to make a dimple in a panel was to use a foot pedal operated pneumatic cylinder to do the work for you. This would give the operator both hands to position the panel and wouldn't require him or her to have to over extend when dimpling large panels. Also, since the air cylinder would exert the same amount of force on the dies every time, dimples should be very consistent.