Tom Gan

I am a new Rv-9A builder and have been monitoring the VAF site for about 2 years and this is my first post. I am starting my tail kit in the next three weeks and I need to make some decisions quickly about my workshop location. I?ve scanned the forums and I don?t think that this question has been asked. If the group could please give me guidance and opinions on my specific question that would be great:

Background

Building a RV9-A; Going to Stein Air to build my complete empennage kit in August; Planning to go quick build wings and fuselage; Looking to stay with one workshop location if possible unless there are distinct advantages with combining both options; haven't purchased tools yet.

Workshop Options

1) Finished, heated basement.
Two potential workspaces non adjoining; 22? x 10? with an internal hallway restriction width of 3?2?; one 28? x 12? without hallway restrictions; Walk out basement has steep hill to get to driveway so one time in/out a must; Ceiling height is 8?; good lighting, good electric; Basement entry has a French door 34? with ability to temporarily remove the one stationary door to max opening of w68? x h78?

2) 3 Car garage
1 bay full-time; 2 bays part-time (cars in/out when building); Each bay 9? x 20
No heat/ac, some lighting, good electric; Will have to move out an existing popup camper and store remotely (~75/mth)

Questions

1) Any other major considerations?
2) Where would you build you workshop and why?
3) Restrictions / drawbacks with the basement option? How far can I build before moving?
4) Restrictions / drawbacks with the garage option? How far can I build before moving?

workshop options