Rick_A

Well Known Member
I'll be starting to lay the glass for the for the windshield / canopy gap fairing (ie. on the slider rollbar). I decided to add a couple of layers carbon fiber tape to the lay up but I've not used CF before.

Are there any special considerations when working with CF? Is it a lot more difficult to trim and sand after it's in place?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Carbon Fiber

I'm not an expert in composites but I do know there are concerns with the carbon coming in contact with aluminum. They are fairly far apart on the galvanic potential chart which means you could create a battery and thus have galvanic corrosion of your aluminum. Now they tell me if you are certain you can keep the two apart with the resin or some other insulator, it makes a very strong lightweight matrix.

That's probably worth what you paid for it...nothing. But you did ask for some "special considerations." Sounds like you may be adding the CF to a layup you've already made which would seem to insulate the CF from the Al.

I have seen some recent photos of an RV with a Carbon Fiber instrument panel, so maybe the concern is not that great.

Let us know how your layup turns out because I am interested in using some CF on my RV.

Don

Carbon Fiber

The only real issue you'd have with Carbon to Aluminum would be if they were not bonded. They layup process is exactly the same.

In your case, use a layer or two of glass then carbon and top off with glass. No problems.

I have a carbon fiber panel in my 7. I made a blank with 2 layers of 8 oz glass cloth then 2 layers of carbon fiber on a 45. This is simply a blank over the Vans panel and is for looks only. It is about 3 mils thick.

No CF to aluminum

For this application the carbon fiber won't be any where near the alumimum skin. I already have glass on the skin around the windshield base and I'm going to start the lay up over the rollbar with glass also.

I'm mostly interested in "workability" characteristics.