rrd1_99

Sometimes I think making these decisions is more mentally taxing than building an airplane....

RV-9A with a 160 HP O-320. I have definitely decided to go fixed pitch, but I haven't made the metal versus wood decision. I like the aesthetics of a wood prop, as well as the "smoothness". But I have very little experience flying one and no experience maintaining one.

I live in semi-arid eastern Oregon and don't plan to find myself in rain very often. I will have a home strip, likely dirt treated with dust control agent. The ground is very loamy, with very little natural gravel.

Are there any other considerations I should be mindful of?

Thanks,
Roger Barnes
slow QB -9A

MT fixed pitch

I live in northwest Washington State which is rain soaked compared to beautiful La Grande. I purchased an F/P MT prop because it has a stainless steel leading edge. The prop is supposed to be somewhat weather resistant. Wood core with composite shell, steel leading edge. I have not flown it yet but it looks pretty sound. You might want to check it out.

If you have your plane hangered wood should be fine, although you will have to always check torque on your prop bolts on wood, whereas metal does not change its size. I personally would look into the composites as the outside composite material protects the wood core. You still get the smoothness and light weight of wood, but it will stand a little more weather.

I have been checking my prop bolt torque every 50 hrs as part of my oil change routine. Never an issue so far with 300 hrs on the Hobbs. I have a Sterba wood prop on my 160 hp O320.

With wood there are no RPM restrictions that I am aware of anyway, and they are a tad bit smoother. Personally, I like to see the wood, I think they look better...kinda retro old school.

I like wood