I am building a 7a and am wondering with the EFIS systems today, how much individual wiring expertise is required or is alot of that experience negated with the wiring harnesses that come with the systems, such as the Skyview or G3x. (Incidentally I am hard pressed to choose between the two) Im thinking about the VPX electronic breaker system and understand that it is suppossed to simplify some of the wiring. thanx

Need good eyes!

Take your time and triple check your pins and you will have no problems.

I went with the VP system not only to simplify things , but to give me flexibility too.

You can change C/B values, you don't need flap relays, you don't have to worry about trim wiring, it's a cleaner install....on and on....

As long as you trust the technology you will love the system.

Plus, Marc will give you great customer support!

I'm just getting started with the wiring on my -9A. A big box of goodies is now waiting for me to install them on the aircraft. I'm doing Skyview and VP-X. Simple VFR panel. Minimal systems and switches.

I have spent countless hours reading the Dynon and Vertical Power installation manuals and I think I have a good idea now of how everything connects. The VP-X installation guide is an excellent tutorial, along with the online configurator. I made a separate wiring run spreadsheet and broke up the sections by component and detailed every single wire from source to destination. Well over 200 individual wires to worry about, and I haven't even thought about the COMM system yet. :)

Just take it system by system and don't over think it. Most of the wires only have a single destination (engine sensor, flap motor, light, etc.)
I was prepared to have to buy a bunch of bare wire, but the VP-X harness kit provides plenty, and along with the EMS and Skyview harnesses, there is only a minor bit of extra wire that I have had to buy (coax and shielded strobe wire).