foka4

Well Known Member
In a cursory review of past VAF posts, I see a lot of discussion on how to account for winter operations in our design and construction of pitot/static systems, engine preheaters, etc., but relatively little discussion on what to expect in the most important of winter ops discussions: an actual encounter with in-flight icing.

My first GA encounter with ice was on my first IFR lesson. It was also my first flight in IMC, my first flight as PIC in a nosedragger, and my first flight in a complex aircraft. That was quite a lesson. Later, as a licensed IFR pilot, my next icing encounter was in VMC! If there's one thing I've learned about icing, it's that you can't learn enough about icing.

Disclaimer: Flight in icing conditions is a bad idea. Flight into known icing conditions (unless appropriately equipped) is illegal. If you're contemplating an RV flight that may take you into icing conditions, take the airlines. The risks of flying personal aircraft (RVs et al) into icing conditions are well-documented elsewhere, and if you don't understand those risks, don't fly in air colder than 40 deg F. This posting is not intended to encourage RV operations in icing conditions, nor is it intended to be a place for pilots to pontificate about the dangers of icing.

With all of that out of the way, I'd like to explore the topic of icing and RVs in the same way we would discuss loss of oil pressure, smoke in the cockpit, and dead stick landings: not things you would intentionally subject yourself to, but things that may be more survivable with the right knowledge, preparation, and vigilance.