Major Tom 211

I'm New Here
Greetings fellow aviators,

I have recently gotten a "wild hair" and decided I am interested in a toy. I make my living flying heavies but want something smaller to enjoy. I am looking for some information and advice on different Vans Aircraft Models.

First off, I like Acro. I am 6'4" tall and range between 240-260 pounds. My sitting height is 38 1/2". Will I fit in the back of an RV-8? Will I fit in an RV-6/7?

I don't have the technical skills to build an aircraft from a kit. How do you know you have a quality product when buying a plane from another builder?

Anybody near Ogden Utah? I would love to see a finished plane and talk!

9A

Welcome Major,

Russians can build you single seater 9 if you wish. Seriously.

I think you will be OK in 8 too.

RE: Which RV for me?

I flew heavies (KC-135/-10) for Uncle and chose the RV-9A, but if you want acro, I agree, the RV-8 would work nicely. Check out the classifies here at VAF and you should find an -8 or two for sale. Get a good RV-knowledgeable mechanic to do the pre buy for you. I live in Reno, hangar is at 4SD, stop in sometime. Dan

There are lot's of RV's in the vicinity of Ogden, Bountiful Skypark, and South Valley Regional (previously known as SLC #2). I just don't personally know the Ogden owners.

L.Adamson --- RV6A

An L39 !?!? Nice flying plane, if you have $300k burning a hole in your pocket and a fuel truck to go with it. ;)

I think an RV8/8A would fit you well, or if you prefer side by side seats, the 7/7A would be a great choice. Either way, you WILL like it!

Guiness, Budweisser, diet coke, ice tea, shot of whiskey

8, 7, 9, 10, 3