Rick6a

Well Known Member
Guys,

Make this easy on me. I am out of my depth in such matters and dazzling me with arcane trivia will only serve to confuse. I've seen this type of question go way off on a tangent with wordy responses that lose me after the second paragraph.

As background, I am a recreational VFR pilot and cross country accounts for roughly 20% of my flying. I posed this question to Van's support several days ago and have yet to receive a response.

Item: I am going to install a Van's ordered XIO-360MIB and want to install a Lightspeed ignition system to replace one magneto. Van's offers two Lightspeed options, the Plasma II and the Plasma III and the price differential is around $275. Is the extra cost of the Plasma III really worth the premium or would I be perfectly happy ordering the Plasma II and save some serious money in the bargain?

Pick the best

I chose the III because of the improved spark IIRC. If in doubt, call them and talk to Klaus.

Rick,

I also chose the PIII unit for my 9a. The PIII unit has a longer duration spark than the PII and LS says this contributes to better fuel efficiency or higher hp.

Cheers,

db

Plasma III

I have the Plasma III with the front-mounted direct crank sensor. The timing will ALWAYS be correct. The direct crank sensor, the ring gear comes with two magnets permanently installed in it at the precise timing location needed.

And yes, the fuel economy is better. I cruise up high with an ECI 160 HP O-320-D1A equivalent engine. I get 160 MPH true air speed with a Hartzell CS prop at 12,000~13,000 feet, burning around 5.5 to 6 gallons per hour of 100LL fuel.

Jerry K. Thorne
East Ridge, TN
RV-9A, N2PZ

I spoke to Klaus and crew at OSH about this very issue, and he said exactly what you've already been told above, but added that the spark advance is different between the two.

This came from the FAQs on Lightspeed's web site.

What is the difference between the Plasma II Plus and the Plasma III system?