snoopyflys

Well Known Member
Does anyone have a primer on how to determine the proper fastener? While not being an engineer, I have been trying to understand the how come?s and what for?s a particular screw, bolt, blind rivet, etc. is chosen/used in assembling the various components on my airplane. I?m hoping that a builder before me has had a similar quest for knowledge and is willing to share what they were able to find.

I started with Jepp A&P technician general textbook then got a hard copy of AC 43.13 - Acceptable Methods, Techniques, and Practices. Then Tom had a promo for Genuine Aircraft Hardware Book. Spruce has great catalog with detailed descriptions for free. And this very forum of course. It has MASSIVE ( as Iron put it) archives.

Experience is a good teacher, Dan.

Just this week, I had to remove my cowl at an airport 300 miles from home and the d*** top cowl has philips screws about 2 1/2 inches apart on the top rear and I didn't have my electric screwdriver either. I almost had cramps removing those screws by hand, in 38 degree weather. Camloks would have been sooo much easier! Like we did on our -6A we built, so what goes there is your choice, one that 43.13 doesn't cover. I didn't build this airplane but I can assure you, the screws are gonna be gone shortly.

Some places need screws that are up to the loads and that's where tech manuals may help.

Best,

As Vlad said, AC43.13 is a great place to start. I was given a copy when I was 13, and digested the whole thing - all the secrets of how airframes shoudl be maintained and repaired. Lots of good stuff there - I always have a copy close by.

Paul

Fasteners