Status
Not open for further replies.

LettersFromFlyoverCountry

Well Known Member
I've just been informed that the site I've been camping on for the last 10 years at Oshkosh -- out in the field by the creek -- is now going to be the new 24-hour generator area.

This is necessitated because EAA has seen fit to upgrade the old 24 hour generator with sites with water/electric hookups (i.e. -- the rich people with their fancy camping units), charge them over $40 a night with no credit for unused nights.

So now the blight of land yachts with incessant noise is going to displace those of us who are "old school" campers and I have no idea what space will be left for us, and where POG '10 will be.

Frankly, this is what I was afraid of when the "upgrades" to the AirVenture grounds were announced.

Unfortunately, EAA says no maps will be available for Camp Scholler's new layout for another two weeks.

This makes the Piece of Grass 2010 pretty impossible to pull off now because I have no idea where someone like me will be allowed to camp, so I won't be able to tell people where it'll be.

I have ZERO interest in being within a half-mile of the 24-hour generator people.

I'll try to reassess the situation over the next week or so and, if necessary, refund the money of those who've contributed to POG, because it's pretty clear we won't be able to hold it in the campground, so we won't need to buy extra campsites to hold it.

There are some other options for this event, but the campground experience is the #1 reasons I go to Oshkosh and the EAA seems pretty intent on making it for the more affluent crowd, as opposed to traditional campers.

Too bad. It was one of Oshkosh's real charms.

Last edited:
Hmm - Could we try to have a bunch of us who fly-in try to park together in HBC and have the piece-of-grass gathering there? (I haven't been to Osh in 15 yrs so my mental picture of where the good place is to gather is probably really dated)