jferraro17

Opulence, I has it...
The time has come where I MUST make a decision on the -8 vs the -8A.

I have ZERO tail wheel experience, but have been leaning that way from the begining. Short list of pros/cons:

Pro:
Grove airfoil gear
a new challange to learn
better CG management
no step installation
looks great

Con:
no experince (risk, insurance rates?)
don't plan extensive soft field flying
Texas winds
less leg room (towers)
no experience

Aside form the normal/expected ribbing resulting from this post, I am looking for real experience, arguments, regrets, etc. I have heard some tailwheel builders wish they had gone the other way after flying for a while...haven't heard it the other way around. That's why I'm asking.

To avoid instigating a war--and to solicit your TRUE feelings, you can reply to me at jferraro16 at yahoo.com or via private message here. That way NOBODY will know how you really feel about your decsion, or the advice you give...and you won't have to face the knuckleheads around here who will certainly pile on!

Thanks,
Joe

Go with your heart, Joe. I had zero TW time also when building my plane.

If you'd like to taxi Flash around 52F for thirty minutes or so you're more than welcome to (that's what Jay Pratt did to me...and it helped). You'll get completely comfortable (at least taxiing) in about five minutes.

b,
dr

Joe,
I only have about 500 tailwheel hours and probably like you I was concerned with the "can I really do this" thoughts.

I fly a RV8 and a Supercub and there is no safety issue. Just get enough conventional dual (duel) til you feel comfortable.
I fly in Kansas and cross winds are a non issue as long as the proper technique is applied.

Go for the taildragger!!

Just to clarify...

When I say "knuckleheads", it is a term of friendly kidding. NOT an insult as somebody who replied privately insinuated (not Mike S). I thought we all have fun here, ribbing, teasing, etc.