KevinP

Hi guys I have been lurking for a few days now and just joined!

My name is Kevin Pereira I live in San Jose and i'm a college student. I have a PPL I earned from Amelia Reid Aviation that focuses on taildraggers and old school flying, rarely used the GPS in their Citabrias and have yet to use a VOR, isn't that great?:)

Well I am considering starting to build a RV7 pretty soon,maybe later this year, or at least that is my dream. I think it would be a great project for me and give me something to do on my downtime.

My question is, is it wise to start building before you can afford to complete the whole aircraft? I'm not rich my any means but I figure with a part time job I can buy some tools and start building the empennage. I can use my garage so space is not an issue, just money. I'm sure I will be more financially stable when the time comes to buy an engine and avionics, im just wondering if it is common so start constructing without much financial backing in the beginning?

Also, if anyone is located in my area I would love to help build or watch, maybe even ride :D

Thank you for any comments.

Welcome Kevin,

When to start? "You'll start building when you can't stand to not be buiding..."

Just remember that while many start and never finish, those that never start - never finish!