rwagner24

Hey All,
I know the title of my post probably made some veteran builders shiver but hear me out. I'm building a RV8 Quick Build and have the tail finished and am working on the left wing. I have been a pilot since 1998 but this is my first build. I am an automotive technician specializing in electrical problems. I attended a RV Assembly Workshop. I left that workshop with the message you must use aviation hardware period. Here is my current source of frustration. In the automotive world I would absolutely never use a butt connector to join two wires. They corrode over time and cause random electrical problems. I always soldered wires and used heat shrink. I had a tech counselor tell me not to solder because vibration can cause the solder to crack, use butt connectors. I ordered Adel style clamps to hold the wires away from anything they could rub on but never thought about the small bolts and lock nuts I would use to attach them. Would hardware store bolts washers and lock nuts be ok? It just seems like every time I get started working on something I have to stop and wait 3 days for an Aircraft Spruce Order to come. I would like to put plugs on the back of my landing light wires. Are good quality plugs from NAPA ok or do they have to come from a place like Stein Air? I would never use hardware store bolts on anything important like flight controls, but it just seems like over kill for holding a Adel clamp to a wing rib. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Ryan we've used a lot of good automotive stuff on my RV's. Soldering and heat shrink is far superior to butt joints...the guy is wrong about that.

Adel clamp bolts with STEEL locknuts should be used FWF because of heat concerns and the plastic softening.

As long as you're using good aircraft type practices, you're good to go. One subscriber/advertizer on here, uses MSD type ignition in modified mags for higher energy spark...all this permissible in the Experimental arena.