BlackRV7

Well Known Member
Since I am new to this tailwheel thing and might get the chance to try grass next week (easy now....) I have got the ask this question. On pavement, I do the "release back pressure" to plant the mains. This just seemed WRONG when I was learning, as in "prop strike", but it turns out to actually work, imagine that!! With that said, grass has got to provide more braking action than pavement so the question is: on initial main touchdown is it just going to be less release of back pressure or is the grass going to help so as to just about relieve the use of relieving the back pressure on the stick....if that makes any sense.

Looking forward to trying grass........way out of my college days..............sorry, couldn't resist;)

With that said, grass has got to provide more braking action than pavement so the question is: on initial main touchdown is it just going to be less release of back pressure or is the grass going to help so as to just about relieve the use of relieving the back pressure on the stick....if that makes any sense.

Grass provides LESS braking action than a paved surface. But braking action doesn't really come into play during the touchdown phase of a landing. I think what you're actually thinking about is the "give" that a grass surface provides. A softer surface can often absorb a bit of the bounce (or gear springback) that a paved runway cannot, which makes it generally easier to learn on grass. Grass is also more forgiving of a slight sideslip at touchdown, when you haven't quite aligned the airplane with the direction of flight.

On the other hand, grass runways are rarely perfectly level, so there might be more of a risk that you'll experience a slight hop or skip because of surface irregularities.

So it probably averages out. In an RV, landing on either surface becomes a non-event pretty quickly.

Have fun!