tdhanson

Well Known Member
I know everyone's situation is different. And I'm not looking for anyone to divulge sensitive information. The wife knows I want to build a kit plane or buy a plane (either kit or certified). Various options run from a Cessna 152 in the $20-25k range to a couple kit planes (Rans S6 or Kitfox) which would be in the $45-60k range completed, to a Vans RV7 or 10 or Glastar Sportsman that would end up being in the $100k + range completed. However, financial situation dictates we both ensure that this doesn't end up being the wrong decision. Right now I'm in a local club that has C152's and C172's so I can keep current. And I have a relative with a light sport single that I can occasionally use. But the 'bug' has bit and I want my own. I know building a kit would be a 3-5 year or even longer process. More likely to be 7-10 years. My wife has a relatively good professional job but I'm an independent contractor for the last couple years after my 18 years at a company ended. I've been finding work and currently on a contract that's fairly solid for another year. But thereafter ?
Other life situations is a house worth about $400k with about $80k left on mortgage. But we're anticipating spending $100k in kitchen and flooring remodel as well as exterior landscaping. Have about 8 to 12 months worth of my income as savings in ready cash/investments. I've done fairly well since march in the stock market with it. It would be a hard choice to use almost half to get into a plane.

One kid in local jr college and one started high school. We're both maxing out 401k allocations. Four cars (two paid, two about 1 year left).

So at what point can one comfortably balance income or use of savings to start building a kit or buy a plane. Any guidelines for the amount spend relative to one's financial situation.