LarryT

Well Known Member
I am in the final stages of purchasing a flying RV with a modified O-320 engine and Sensenich propeller (2600 RPM propeller redline). The engine was built by a (supposedly) reputable engine builder (not an advertiser on this site) and furnished with a dyno sheet that makes no sense to me. My formal training is as a mechanical engineer, my experience is automotive engineering design, test and development and I have personally been involved in dyno testing. I also forwarded a copy to an engineering friend who has spent his entire career in engine development and the dyno information didn't make sense to him either.

The builder has refused to return 3 (polite) telephone calls and 6 e-mails requesting an expanation of the information.

I do not believe that the current propeller is a good match for the engine/airframe because of the RPM restriction. There are many folks on this forum who have done a lot of testing. Since this is a flying airplane, could you knowledgable people please chime in with some advice regarding how I might conduct some flight tests to help a propeller manufacturer furnish me with a prop that is a better match.

For example could I seek altitudes where the plane would run WOT at various engine RPM, say 2200 - 2600 in 100 RPM increments and deduce horsepower from measured air temp and baro data?

Thanks a lot,

Larry

well....

I don't know about all of the tech data, but I believe the 0320 and the Sensenich metal prop to be a good match indeed. Lots of us flying them, and the overall experience has been favorable, but possibly not ideal in certain circumstances. They are a certified propeller (70CM-XXX) when mated to the 320 Lycoming. Some might say that makes it a safer alternative. My 9A is perfectly suited to use this combination, and I find it to be hard to beat as far as the numbers are concerned, however, I do like the smoothness of a composite or wooden propeller.