BHunt

Well Known Member
So, right now I'm a pilot in the Air Force, but one day planning to buy and build an RV-10. My goal is to start my research now so when the day comes to make the purchase, im ready. My intention is to have it IFR legal. So... What do I need to be truly legal? For example, if I want to have a non certified EFIS, (SkyView), what do I need in conjunction?

Thanks
Brad

It's easy.

Brad, there is no IFR 'certification'. You simply comply with FAR 91....something and install the required equipment.

My -10 is IFR capable with two Dynon screens...an EFIS and an engine monitor. The EFIS is set up so that my "Home" screen at boot-up is split with an HSI on the right, where my nav/approach info is displayed.

I also have an SL-30 for localizer and glideslope approaches and a 430W for precision RNAV/LPV approaches and file as /U.

If you're ever in my vicinity, you can fly my -10 left seat and we'll go 25 miles and shoot a few LPV apps.

154TAS.jpg

Dash-10.jpg

Notice the winds aloft from 201 degrees at 18 MPH...it's calculated for you continuously between the GPS info from the 430 "speaking" to the D-100...amazing...even the crosswind component shows and if you study the HSI, you can see the wind correction angle!

Best,

Last edited:
Brad,
Take Pierre up on his offer to fly his -10 if you get the chance. Having had the pleasure to fly that airplane, I can tell you it is the nicest, most well equipped general aviation airplane I have ever flown. You won't be disappointed with your -10. It is a remarkable airplane.

Brad, there is no IFR 'certification'. You simply comply with FAR 91....something and install the required equipment.

My -10 is IFR capable with two Dynon screens...an EFIS and an engine monitor. The EFIS is set up so that my "Home" screen at boot-up is split with an HSI on the right, where my nav/approach info is displayed.