Torch76

Hello, my name is John, and I'm an RV-addict.
Phew, now that the intro is over, time for my problem. I'm a grad student with the dream of building an -8. I have neither the time nor space to begin building, and I don't plan on being settled down in one place for a few more years. What can I do (if anything) to get ready? I'm tired of waiting!

What I have done: checked out a few builders shops, creeped on this forum for over a year, check out many builder's websites, look at as many RVs as I could at OSH, bought preview plans (I know, they'll be obsolete by the time I'm in the game), and started savings as much money for the project as my college income allows. I have all the pilot certificates I need.

Any other ideas? Thanks!
T76

Welcome to VAF John! It looks like you are a good planner and will be busy with you job for a couple years. If you think that building the airplane of your dream (RV8) is not possible as of now then why not to buy one? RV8 could be out of your budget but nice RV4 or even RV3 is within the reach of an addict I guess. It's buyers market now I saw couple nice birds in 40-45K range. Buy, enjoy and when you are ready to start on your 8, sell. As you said you have all pilot certificates and are probably very skilled pilot so your insurance will be low. Good luck with your decision whatever it will be!

hello, welcome.

I probably will be of no help, but...

what is you degree, career field, time to compete degree, expected salary, expected location, cfi, married, kids, yada, yada...?

Starting an emp kit is really not that expensive. Although it may seem like it.
There are plenty of started kits on the market that I'm sure you could get a deal on. You may even be able to borrow some of the tools or start the kit in someone else's shop. This could give you an idea whether you really want to get into it.

good luck.